Wisconsin Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Wisconsin Child Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Wisconsin
- Wisconsin Bureau of Child Support Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Wisconsin Child Support Payment Amounts Determined?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
- You Have Options
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Wisconsin, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Wisconsin child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Income withholding
- Federal and state tax intercept program
- Passport denial
- Placing liens on real or personal property
- Reporting child support debt to credit reporting agencies
- Garnishing other income or financial assets
- License suspension (driver’s, professional and occupational
The Wisconsin Bureau of Child Support is the state-run child support enforcement office for Wisconsin. The Wisconsin Division of Workforce Solutions is required by federal law to provide services through Bureau of Child Support (BCS) and is funded by the federal government and the state of Wisconsin.
|WISCONSIN BUREAU OF CHILD SUPPORT CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||1,070|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
Support Collectors Collects Past Due Child Support in Wisconsin
If the Wisconsin Bureau of Child Support isn’t getting the results you want or you don’t feel they’re giving your case the personal attention it deserves, Support Collectors can help.
Support Collectors has developed a proven system that teams attorneys, investigators and enforcement specialists to work your case from every possible angle. We work nationwide and our only business is collecting support. Our success rate is up to three times better than the Wisconsin BCS and we never charge you a cent unless we put money in your hands.
Wisconsin provides for interest to be charged on late child support payments at a rate of 1% on amounts greater than one month’s worth of support.
Enforcement of past due child support in Wisconsin is subject to a 20 year statute of limitations.
In Wisconsin, paternity actions must occur before the child is 19 years of age, but there is no limit on a voluntary paternity acknowledgment.
The age of emancipation in Wisconsin is 18 years of age. If the child is still in high school or pursuing a course of education designed to lead to a high school diploma or its equivalent, support continues until age 19. (880.01(7))
Wisconsin child support payment guidelines are based on: parent’s income, how much time a child spends with each parent, whether a parent is supporting other children. The basic support guidelines are: 17% of gross income for 1 child, 25% of gross income for 2 children, 29% of gross income for 3 children, 31% of gross income for 4 children, 34% of gross income for 5 or more children.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.
Any custodial parent not receiving public assistance may contract with a child support collection agency such as Support Collectors, or hire a private attorney, and at the same time have a case open with the Wisconsin Bureau of Child Support. We work harder to collect the child support you are owed.
Collecting support is all we do and we give you the personalized, dedicated attention that your case deserves. Call us at (888) 729-6661 or get started online right now! We don’t charge a cent until we put money in your pocket.