Vermont Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Vermont Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Vermont
- Vermont Office of Child Support Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Vermont?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Vermont, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
Vermont Child Support Enforcement Measures
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Vermont child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Issuing a wage-withholding order
- Reporting the obligated parent to a credit bureau
- Intercepting tax refunds
- Placing liens on property
- Suspension or non-renewal of any type of license (driver’s, professional or recreational)
- Lottery winnings offset
- Placement of liens against real or personal property
Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Vermont?
The Vermont Office of Child Support is the state-run child support enforcement office for Vermont. The Vermont Agency of Human Services is required by federal law to provide services through the Office of Child Support (OCS) and is funded by the federal government and the state of Vermont.
|VERMONT OFFICE OF CHILD SUPPORT CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||122|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
Vermont makes no provisions to access interest on late child support payments or retroactive support.
Vermont’s Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears)
In Vermont, cases with an order but no adjudicated arrearage must have action taken to adjudicate arrears within 6 years after the youngest child reaches 18 years of age. Cases in which arrearages have been previously adjudicated is limited to 8 years after the last adjudication.
Vermont’s Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
Determination of paternity in Vermont must begin before the child reaches age 21.
Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority in Vermont
The age of emancipation in Vermont is 18. Support obligation is automatically terminated at the age of majority or the termination of secondary education, whichever is later. (VSA 173)
How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Vermont?
Child support is ordered by the court based upon Vermont’s Child Support Guidelines and is ordinarily determined by a review of the parties’ current incomes and the child care and health insurance costs associated with the child(ren). However, the court may adjust the amount of child support if the guidelines are determined to be unfair to the child or any party.
Custody and Visitation Issues
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.