Oregon Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Oregon Child Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Oregon
- Oregon Division of Child Support Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations on Determining Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Oregon Child Support Payment Amounts Determined?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
- You Have Options
Even if the non-custodial parent lives in another state, Federal law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures according to Oregon family law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- The court may require employers to deduct child support from the paying parent’s paycheck through wage withholding.
- Liens may be filed against his or her property or other assets.
- Federal and State Income Tax refunds may be intercepted
- A judge may find the nonpaying parent in contempt of court and impose a possible jail sentence to jail and/or a judgment for past due child support.
- The court may take other enforcement action as necessary
The official child support enforcement agency for the State of Oregon is the Department of Justice’s Division of Child Support (DCS). The Division of Child Support is required by federal law to provide its services free of charge and is funded by the federal government and the State of Oregon.
|OREGON DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||720|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
Support Collectors Collects Back Child Support on Oregon Court Orders
If the Oregon Division of Child Support hasn’t delivered the results you want or you don’t feel they a can give to the personal attention you deserve, Support Collectors can help. Support Collectors has developed a proven system that teams attorneys, investigators and enforcement specialists to work your case from every possible angle. We work nationwide and our only business is collecting support. Our success rate is up to three times better than the Division of Child Support and we never charge you a thing unless we put money in your pocket.
Oregon allows for interest to be charged on missed child support payments and retroactive support. Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 82.010 provides for 9% interest. Interest is added only if a party requests and provides an accounting that includes a calculation of accrued interest. Periodic updates must be provided in order for a case to reflect ongoing interest accrual.
Prior to January 1, 1994, each overdue payment was a judgment that expired 10 years from the date of accrual if not renewed. Any arrears unexpired on January 1, 1994 and any child support judgment entered after that date expires 25 years from the date of the original child support judgment. (see ORS 25.700).
There is no time limitation for establishing paternity in the State of Oregon.
The State of Oregon defines the age of emancipation as 18 years old or 21 years old if attending school half-time or more.
In Oregon, child support is automatically terminated at 18 years of age if not addressed in the court order for support. The date of the court order does impact what law is applied, as revisions have been made to the statute. Beneficiaries that qualify as a “child attending school” under ORS 107.108 have different requirements based on whether the most recent Oregon child support order or a modification was entered before or after 10/4/1997. For child support orders dated prior to 10/4/1997, the child must be attending school at least half-time. For child support orders dated on or after 10/4/1997, the child must be attending school at least half-time, maintain a “C” grade average or better, and submit compliance documents within 30 days from the start of each term or semester. Also, for orders dated on or after 10/4/1997, a prorated share of the support is paid directly to the child based on the number of children for whom support is ordered.
Oregon’s child support guidelines use a formula comparing the available resources of both parents (usually, their gross income). Once both parents’ incomes are determined, the formula gives the basic support amount. Day care costs and some medical costs can be added to this support, and provisions may be made in cases of shared or split custody.
If the court finds the amount established by the Oregon child support guidelines to be “unjust or inappropriate,” the judge may take various “rebuttal factors� into account, such as a child with special needs or a parent’s unusual expenses or financial resources.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent has a duty to obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce its orders against either parent.
Any custodial parent not receiving public assistance may retain the services of a child support collection agency like Support Collectors, or hire a private attorney, and at the same time have a case open with the Oregon Division of Child Support. We’re able to work harder to collect the child support you are owed.
Collecting support is all we do and we give you the personalized, dedicated attention that your case deserves. Call us at (888) 729-6661 or get started online right now! You don’t pay us anything until we put money in your pocket.