New Jersey Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- New Jersey Child Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court-Ordered Child Support in New Jersey
- New Jersey Child Support Services Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed New Jersey Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are New Jersey Child Support Payment Amounts Determined?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
- You Have Options
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of New Jersey, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and New Jersey child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Garnishment of bank accounts or investments
- Wage withholding
- Having the past-due amount taken out of a tax refund
- Reporting the delinquency to a credit reporting agency
- Having the past-due amount taken out of lottery winnings
- Placement of liens on assets (bank accounts, insurance proceeds, cars, boats, or real estate)
The New Jersey Child Support Program is the state-run child support enforcement office for New Jersey. The New Jersey Department of Human Services is required by federal law to provide services through Child Support Program (CSP) and is funded by the federal government and the state of New Jersey.
|NEW JERSEY CHILD SUPPORT PROGRAM CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||2,104|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
Support Collectors Collects Past Due Child Support in New Jersey
If the New Jersey Child Support Program isn’t getting the results you want or you don’t feel they’re giving your case the personal attention it deserves, Support Collectors can help.
Support Collectors has developed a proven system that teams attorneys, investigators and enforcement specialists to work your case from every possible angle. We work nationwide and our only business is collecting support. Our success rate is up to three times better than the New Jersey CSP and we never charge you a cent unless we put money in your hands.
New Jersey does not make provisions for interest to be charged on late child support payments, adjudicated arrears, or retroactive support.
New Jersey has no statute of limitations pertaining to enforcement of child support orders.
In New Jersey paternity action must commence within 5 years beyond the child’s 18th birthday.
The age of emancipation in New Jersey is 18 years of age. However, attaining this age does not automatically emancipate the child. (NJSA 9:17B-3) Emancipation is determined by the court on a case by case basis.
There are a number of steps to calculating child support under New Jersey child support guidelines : Determining income and deductions, referring to the guidelines charts, calculating both parents’ shares, and taking care of special add-ons, deductions, and poverty tests.
The New Jersey Department of Human Services website explains the Eight Major Steps in Calculating New Jersey Child Support.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.
Any custodial parent not receiving public assistance may contract with a child support collection agency such as Support Collectors, or hire a private attorney, and at the same time have a case open with the New Jersey Child Support Program. We work harder to collect the child support you are owed.
Collecting support is all we do and we give you the personalized, dedicated attention that your case deserves. Call us at (888) 729-6661 or get started online right now! We don’t charge a cent until we put money in your pocket.