Maine Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Maine Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Maine
- Maine Child Support Services Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Maine?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Maine, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Maine child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Income withholding including; wages, salaries, commissions, bonuses
- Intercept of non-wage funds including; federal tax refunds, state tax refunds, unemployment benefits, and disability benefits
- Suspension of fishing and recreational licenses
- Consumer credit bureau reporting
- Liens on real and personal property
The Maine Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery is the state-run child support enforcement office for Maine. The Office of Integrated Access and Support is required by federal law to provide services through Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery (DSER) and is funded by the federal government and the State of Maine.
|MAINE DSER CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||280|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
The state of Maine does not provide for interest on missed support payments. However, 19A MRSA § 2354 states that commissioner (DSER) may collect interest of 6% per year on any support due or owing to the department. 14 MRSA § 1602 authorizes pre-judgment interest of 8% per year and §1602-A authorizes post-judgment interest of 15% per year.
In Maine, there is no statute of limitations of enforecement of child support orders. But payment is presumed after a period of 20 years.
Maine requires that paternity be established before the child’s 18th birthday.
The age of majority in Maine is 18. (19A MRSA § 1653(12))
Support obligation is automatically terminated at the age of majority 18 years of age, unless the child is attending secondary school. Then until the child graduates, withdraws or is expelled from secondary school or reaches 19 years of age, whichever occurs first; becomes married; or becomes a member of the armed services.
The Maine Schedule of Basic Child Support Obligation provides a framework for determining most child support obligations. Tables detailing the guidelines may be found on the Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery website.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.