Kentucky Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Kentucky Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Kentucky
- Kentucky Child Support Services Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Kentucky?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Kentucky, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Kentucky child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Income withholding (paycheck, unemployment, worker’s comp)
- Denial or suspension of a driver’s or professional licenses
- Intercept of lottery winnings
- Intercept of state or federal taxes
- Denial of a passport applications
The Kentucky Division of Child Support is the state-run child support enforcement office for Kentucky. The Kentucky Department for Community Based Services is required by federal law to provide services through Division of Child Support and is funded by the federal government and the State of Kentucky.
|KENTUCKY DCS CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||972|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
The State of Kentucky does not charge interest on missed payments or retroactive support. However, they do provide for interest on adjudicated arrears at a rate of 12%. But only if reduced to a judgment and ordered.
The statute of limitations for enforcement of child support arrears in Kentucky 15 years after the last child on the order emancipates.
Kentucky law stipulates that paternity must be established before the child is 19 years old.
KRS 405.020(1) provides…”The father shall be primarily liable for the nurture and education of his children who are under the age of eighteen (18) when the child is a full-time high school student, but not beyond completion of the school year during which the child reaches the age of nineteen (19) years.”
Child support payments are determined by using established child support guidelines for the state of Kentucky. These guidelines provide the percentage of the noncustodial parent’s adjusted gross income that should be paid as support based on the number of children eligible.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.