Idaho Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Idaho Child Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court-Ordered Child Support in Idaho
- Idaho Child Support Services Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Idaho Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations on Determining Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Idaho?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Idaho, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Idaho child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Withholdings from paychecks, worker’s compensation payments, unemployment benefits.
- State and/or federal income tax refunds garnished.
- Reported to credit reporting bureaus.
- Suspension or revocation of professional or occupational licenses.
- Suspension of driver’s license
- New applications for and renewals of U.S. passport denied or suspended and/or revoked.
- Filing contempt of court actions, which may result in a jail sentence.
- Liens to seize bank accounts, worker’s compensation settlements and real or personal property.
The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare is the state-run child support enforcement office for Idaho. The services of Child Support Services (CSS) are required by federal law and funded by the federal government and the State of Idaho.
|IDAHO DHW CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||165|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
The State of Idaho does not charge interest on past due payments or retroactive support. The interest for judgments is set by state legislature.
Idaho’s statute of limitations for child support arrears is 5 years from the child’s emancipation or reaching the age of majority.
According to Idaho law, paternity must be established before the child reaches 18 years of age.
Age of majority in Idaho is 18 (Idaho Code § 32-706)
Child support is automatically terminated at the age of majority or upon emacipation or at age 19 years if the child is still in high school.
Child support amounts are set using Idaho Child Support Guidelines. The income of both parents, number of children each parent supports, cost of medical insurance premiums, and child tax credit are all considered in determining a child support amount.
Idano child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.