Colorado Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Colorado Child Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court-Ordered Child Support in Colorado
- Colorado Child Support Services Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Colorado?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
- You Have Options
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Colorado, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Colorado child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Income Assignments Against Employment Wages
- New Hire Reporting
- Unemployment Compensation Benefits
- Worker’s Compensation Benefits
- Driver’s License Suspension
- Professional Occupational License Suspension
- Recreational License Suspension
- Passport Denial
- Federal Tax Offset
- Colorado State Revenue Tax Offset
- State Vendor Offset
- Federal Administrative Payment Offset
- Lottery Winnings Intercept
- Financial Institution Data Match
- Credit Bureau Reporting
- Contempt of court charges
- Rule 69s
- Federal Prosecution
The Colorado Child Support Enforcement Program is the state-run child support enforcement office for Colorado. The Colorado Department of Human Services is required by federal law to provide services through Child Support Enforcement Program (CSEP) and is funded by the federal government and the State of Colorado.
|COLORADO CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT PROGRAM CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||712|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
Support Collectors Collects Past Due Colorado Child Support
If the Child Support Enforcement Program hasn’t been able to get the results you want or you don’t feel they’re giving your case the personal attention it deserves, Support Collectors can help.
Support Collectors has developed a proven system that teams attorneys, investigators and enforcement specialists to work your case from every possible angle. We work nationwide and our only business is collecting support. Our success rate is up to three times better than the Colorado CSEP and we never charge you a cent unless we put money in your hands.
The State of Colorado provides for interest on missed payments, retroactive support and adjudicated arrears at the following rates: prior to June 30, 1975, 6% simple interest; July 1, 1975, through June 30, 1979, 8% simple interest; July 1, 1979 through June 30, 1986, 8% compounded interest; and July 1, 1986, through the present 12% compounded interest.
There is no limit in Colorado for child support enforcement unless the arrears are reduced to judgment by the court. In this case, the regular Statute of Limitations for a judgment applies.
Colorado law stipulates that paternity may be established until 18 years of age if the action is initiated by the custodial parent or 21 years of age if the action is initiated by the child.
The age of emancipation in Colorado was lowered from 21 to 19 years of age. There are still orders in force that state child support will continue until 21 years of age and are enforceable unless review and adjustment is made.
For support orders entered before July 1, 1997, emancipation occurs and child support obligation is automatically terminated when the child reaches 19years of age unless a court finds that a child is otherwise emancipated.
Under some circumstances, such as a child’s mental or physical disability, the court may extend the obligation beyond age of 19. If the child is still in high school or an equivalent program, support may continue until the end of the month following graduation but not beyond age 21.
Colorado Child Support Guidelines determined by the state legislature are used when a child’s parents are divorced, separated or unmarried. The guidelines are intended to ensure a fair share of each parent’s income and resources are given to the child. The basic support obligation is determined using the monthly gross incomes of both parents and information about what intact families expenses are for their children. Both parents share the basic support obligation relative to their gross incomes. The noncustodial parent’s share of the obligation establishes the amount of the child support order. The amount of the child support payment can also be affected by the amount of visitation (parenting time) with the child. Both parents share the costs for child care, medical insurance and uninsured medical expenses. If the noncustodial parent’s monthly gross income is $850 – $1,850 they may be eligible for a low income adjustment to the support payment amount.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.
Any custodial parent not receiving public assistance may contract with a child support collection agency such as Support Collectors, or hire a private attorney, and at the same time have a case open with the Colorado Child Support Enforcement Program. We work harder to collect the child support you are owed.
Collecting support is all we do and we give you the personalized, dedicated attention that your case deserves. Call us at (888) 729-6661 or get started online right now! We don’t charge a cent until we put money in your pocket.