Arkansas Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Arkansas Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Arkansas
- Arkansas Child Support Services Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Arkansas?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Arkansas, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
Arkansas Support Enforcement Measures
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Arkansas child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Wage withholding (including military wages)
- Liens on real and personal property and bank accounts
- Interception of Federal and State income tax refunds
- Interception of unemployment benefits, retirement funds and worker’s compensation
- Reporting delinquent parent to credit bureaus
- Suspension of business, professional, regular and commercial drivers licenses, and recreational licenses
- Other legal action
Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Arkansas?
The Arkansas Office of Child Support Enforcement is the state-run child support enforcement office for Arkansas. The Arkansas Department of Finance & Administration is required by federal law to provide services through Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) and is funded by the federal government and the State of Arkansas.
|ARKANSAS OFFICE OF CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||814|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
The State of Arkansas provides for interest of 10% per year on missed support payments and adjudicated arrears.
Arkansas Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears)
The Arkansas statute of limitations on enforcement of child support arrears is five years past age 18 for any arrears that have not been adjudicated. Adjudications are valid for ten years and may be revived every ten years thereafter. Judgments are automatically renewed for 10 years each time there is a payment. If there is no payment is made in 10 years, renewal may be accomplished by judicial process.
Arkansas Statute of Limitations for Determination of Paternity
There is no statute of limitations in Arkansas regarding establishment of paternity.
Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority in Arkansas
The age of majority in Arkansas is 18 years of age or when the child should have graduated from high school. (Ark. Code Anno. § 9-14-237)
How Are Child Support Payment Amounts Determined in Arkansas?
The Supreme Court of Arkansas establishes child support guidelines that are used by both the courts and OCSE to determine the amount of the support obligation. These guidelines consider the needs of the child, the child’s present and future overall well-being, other dependents, and the ability of the parents to pay.
Custody and Visitation Issues
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.