Alaska Child Support Enforcement Resource Center
- Alaska Support Enforcement Measures
- Who Can Enforce Court Ordered Child Support in Alaska
- Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division Caseload Statistics
- Interest on Missed Child Support Payments
- Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support
- Statute of Limitations on Determining Paternity
- Age of Emancipation / Age of Majority
- How Does Alaska Determine Child Support Payment Amounts?
- Custody and Visitation Issues
Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Alaska, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Alaska child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
- Income withholding from wages
- Attaching bank accounts
- Intercepting IRS tax refunds
- Interceping Alaska Permanent Fund dividends and other assets
- Reporting delinquent parents to credit bureaus
- Other legal action
The Alaska Child Support Services Division is the state-run child support enforcement office for Alaska. The Alaska Department of Revenue is required by federal law to provide services through Child Support Services Division (CSSD) and is funded by the federal government and the State of Alaska.
|ALASKA CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES DIVISION CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||247|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
The State of Alaska provides for interest of 6% per year on missed child support payments charged the end of the month the support was due and not paid. On retroactive support the rate is 6% for past due support, from the date the order for past due support is issued or 12% if order was issued prior to October 1, 1996.
No statute of limitations on the collection of child support arrears. (AS 25.27.225)
The statute of limitations in Alaska for establishment of paternity is the age of majority of the child.
The age of majority in Alaska is 18 years old or 19 if unmarried and pursuing a high school diploma or equivalent level of technical or vocational training and residing with custodial parent, guardian or designee of the parent or guardian. (AS 25.20.010,AS 25.24.140(a), 25.24.170(a))
When one parent has primary physical custody, child support payments are based on what the noncustodial parent earns. Primary physical custody refers to the parent with whom the child resides at least 70 percent of the time. The noncustodial parent of one child should pay 20% of his or her adjusted income to support one child. (Alaska Court Civil Rule 90.3) Adjusted income means earning after deductions for taxes, union dues, retirement deductions and other mandatory deductions.
Payment calculations differ when there is shared or divided custody. Shared custody means that one parent has physical custody at least 30% of the year, while divided custody involves multiple children and means that each parent has primary physical custody of at least one child of the relationship. If there is shared or divided custody, the child support is based on the income of both parents.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.