Even if the non-custodial parent lives outside the state of Illinois, the law requires cooperation between states. The non-custodial parent is legally required to make regular child support payments, regardless of where they live.
If a non-custodial parent does not pay child support, he or she is subject to enforcement measures in accordance with Federal and Illinois child support law to collect regular and past-due payments.
The Illinois Child Support Enforcement is the state-run child support enforcement office for Illinois. The State of Illinois is required by federal law to provide services through Child Support Enforcement (CSE) and is funded by the federal government and the State of Illinois.
|ILLINOIS CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT CASELOAD STATISTICS1|
|Full Time Equiv. Staff||1,546|
1 U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement, Boxscores for FY 2005
If Child Support Enforcement hasn't been able to get the results you want or you don't feel they're giving your case the personal attention it deserves, Support Collectors can help.
Support Collectors has developed a proven system that teams attorneys, investigators and enforcement specialists to work your case from every possible angle. We work nationwide and our only business is collecting support. Our success rate is up to three times better than the Illinois CSE and we never charge you a cent unless we put money in your hands.
In the State of Illinois, any payment or portion of a payment that remains unpaid for 30 days or more accrues interest at the rate of 9% per year.
No statute of limitation after 7/1/97. Prior to 07/01/97, the law limited enforcement of past-due child support judgments to 20 years. Therefore, any child support judgments that expired prior to 07/01/97 may not be enforced under 735 ILCS 5/12-108.
Illinois requires that paternity be established within two years of the age of majority.
The age of majority in Illinois is 18. (755 ILCS 5/11-1 and (750 ILCS 5/505))
Child support is automatically terminated when the child reaches the age of majority unless the child has a disability or by agreement of the primary parties. Illinois extends support to age 19 if in High School and documentation is received.
In Illinois, support payments are based on the number of children. There are minimum guidelines for the payment of child support based upon a percentage of the obligor's net income. The amount of support is dependent upon the net income of the paying parent. The guidelines in Illinois provide: 1 child: 20% of obligor's net income; 2 children: 25% of obligor's net income; 3 children: 32% of obligor's net income; 4 children: 40% of obligor's net income; 5 or more children: 50% of obligor's net income.
Child support and visitation rights are separate issues. The court determines both and will usually order the non-custodial parent to pay support and the custodial parent to make the child available for visits.
The custodial parent must obey the court order for visitation, even if the non-custodial parent cannot or will not pay child support. The court can enforce any of its orders against either parent.
Any custodial parent not receiving public assistance may contract with a child support collection agency such as Support Collectors, or hire a private attorney, and at the same time have a case open with Illinois Child Support Enforcement. We work harder to collect the child support you are owed.
Collecting support is all we do and we give you the personalized, dedicated attention that your case deserves. Call us at (888) 729-6661 or get started online right now! We don't charge a cent until we put money in your pocket.